New Locations for Climate Science Centers Announced Print E-mail

On September 23, 2010, Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar announced the locations selected for the Department of the Interior’s Southeast and Northwest regional Climate Science Centers (CSC) and the finalization of a cooperative agreement for the Alaska Climate Science Center, which opened on Sept. 1 in Anchorage.

North Carolina State University will host the Department of the Interior’s Southeast Climate Science Center. A consortium of three universities--Oregon State University, University of Washington and the University of Idaho--will lead the Northwest Climate Science Center. Including the first CSC, the Alaska CSC hosted by the University of Alaska in Fairbanks, a total of three of the eight planned regional Climate Science Centers have been announced.  These regional Climate Science Centers and their partnership networks will function to provide the science needed to understand which regional resources are most vulnerable to climate change, and they will work closely with the resource managers that have to work on planning for climate change. For more details, see the DOI press release at